Key Competencies

Lake Tekapo School’s main focus is on the 5 Key Competencies outlined in the New Zealand Curriculum. These link directly to Te Whariki (Early Childhood Curriculum) and help us form the basis for developing learners for life. These are Thinking, Managing Self. Participating and Contributing, Relating to Others and Language, Symbols and Texts. When teachers are forced to teach to the test, they themselves become less innovative with their teaching methods, with less room for learning games, play and curiosity. At Lake Tekapo School our focus is on more creative teaching methods to explore and build upon your child’s interests and passions.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus

Lake Tekapo School, Aorangi Crescent, Lake Tekapo, 7945, New Zealand     03 680 6816




Principal             Simon Waymouth


Office                 +64 3 680 6816

Address              Aorangi Crescent, PO Box 15, Lake Tekapo







Term 1: Monday 3 February | Friday 27 March

Term 2: Tuesday 14 April | Friday 3 July

Term 3: Monday 20 July | Friday 25 September

Term 4: Monday 12 October | Final day to be confirmed